The three-tier Panchayati Raj System was introduced in Andaman & Nicobar Islands with promulgation of 73rd Amendment Act,1992 which marked a new era in the federal democratic setup of the country to provide constitutional status to the Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs) governed by Andaman and Nicobar Islands (Panchayats) Regulation, 1994. The Administrator of Andaman and Nicobar Islands vide Notification No.179/95 dated. 22.12.1995, specified the powers of Zilla Parishad of A&N Islands to function as the Institution of Self Government for economic development and social justice.

Till February 2007, the three tier of PRIs consisted of 67 Gram Panchayats, 07 Panchayat Samitis and 01 Zilla Parishad. Each of these tiers i.e. Gram Panchayat, Panchayat Samiti and Zilla Parishad function independently.

On 19th March 2007, Zilla Parishad was bifurcated into two Zilla Parishads i.e. Zilla Parishad, South Andaman and Zilla Parishad, North and Middle Andaman. The area of Zilla Parishad, South Andaman covers four Blocks i.e. Prothrapur, Ferrargunj, Little Andaman and Campbell Bay which includes 33 Pradhans, 33 Panchayat Samiti Members and 18 Zilla Parishad Members.

View More